Tamron lens wins EISA Award for 10th consecutive year

Share this post

Tamron lens wins EISA Award for 10th consecutive year

SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A012) wins “European DSLR Zoom Lens 2015-2016”

August 17, 2015, Saitama, Japan – Tamron Co., Ltd. (President & CEO: Morio Ono), a leading manufacturer of precision optics, has announced that the European Imaging and Sound Association (EISA) has presented its “European DSLR Zoom Lens 2015-2016” award to the world’s first* F/2.8 ultra-wide-angle zoom to offer image stabilization, Tamron SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A012).

SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A012)

European DSLR Zoom Lens 2015-2016

*For F/2.8 ultra-wide-angle zoom lens for full-frame DSLR cameras (As of August 16, 2015. Source: Tamron)

The Sony mount model does not include VC since Sony DSLR bodies include image stabilization functionality. The name of the Sony mount model is “SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di USD” without the VC designation. The launch date of the Sony mount model will be announced at a later date.

Excerpt from the Award Citation of the EISA Jury

The Tamron SP 15-30mm F2.8 Di VC USD is quite simply a revolutionary design, being the first wideangle zoom to combine a fast f/2.8 maximum aperture with optical stabilisation. It covers a focal length range suitable for landscape photography, interiors and architecture thanks to the low optical distortion, but can also be used for street photography and atmospheric portraits. The optical performance is exceptional and provides a high level of contrast and detail. The autofocus and image stabilisation systems are highly effective, too. Build quality is high, with moisture resistant construction. It's a large and heavy lens, but great value for money.

Tamron Lenses that have received the EISA Award

The receipt of this prestigious award marks the 17th year Tamron has won an EISA Award, and the 10th consecutive year since 2006.

  • 1992-1993    SP AF35-105mm F/2.8 Aspherical (Model 65D)
  • 1993-1994    AF28-200mm F/3.8-5.6 Aspherical (Model 71D)
  • 1997-1998    SP AF90mm F/2.8 MACRO [1:1] (Model 72E)
  • 1999-2000    AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model 185D)
  • 2000-2001    AF28-200mm F/3.8-5.6 Aspherical -IF SuperⅡ (Model 371D)
  • 2002-2003    AF28-300mm Ultra Zoom XR F/3.5-6.3LD Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model A06)
  • 2003-2004    SP AF28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model A09)
  • 2006-2007    SP AF17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF] (Model A16 )
  • 2007-2008    AF18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II LD Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model A18)
  • 2008-2009    AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di VC LD Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model A20)
  • 2009-2010    AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical [IF] MACRO (Model B003)
  • 2010-2011    SP70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD (Model A005)
  • 2011-2012    18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD (Model B008)
  • 2012-2013    SP 24-70mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A007)
  • 2013-2014    SP 90mm F/2.8 Di MACRO 1:1 VC USD (Model F004) and SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A009)
  • 2014-2015    16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD MACRO (Model B016) and SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD (Model A011)
  • 2015-2016    SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A012)

Similar article